Home / News / Bodyguards Of Disqualified Presidential Aspirants Withdrawn

Bodyguards Of Disqualified Presidential Aspirants Withdrawn

The bodyguards of presidential aspirants disqualified by the Electoral Commission (EC) have been withdrawn with immediate effect, the Police Administration has said.

He said police guards for their running mates have also been withdrawn.

COP Yohuno said the guards were assigned to provide security for aspirants but had to be withdrawn because it was no longer relevant.

Twelve presidential aspirants were disqualified due to various irregularities detected on their nomination forms by the EC.

Only four of the application have received the nod from the EC to contest the presidential election on December 7.

The chair of the Electoral Commission, Mrs Charlotte Osei, who announced the disqualification of the aspirants, cited filing anomalies including fraudulent signatures, absence of a required number of signatures, improper filling of nomination forms, among others, as the reasons for the EC’s decision.

The 2016 presidential aspirants disqualified include the flag bearer of the All People’s Congress (APC), Hassan Ayariga; Dr Edward Mahama of the People’s National Convention (PNC); Dr Agyenim Boateng of the United Front Party (UFP); Kofi Akpaloo of the Independent People’s Party (IPP); Kwabena Adjei of the Reformed Patriotic Democrats (RPD); and Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom of the Progressive People’s Party (PPP).

The others include: Dr Henry Herbert Lartey of the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP); Mr Richard Nixon Tetteh (United Development Systems Party); Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings of the National Democratic Party (NDP); Thomas Ward-Brew of the Democratic People’s Party (DPP); Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, an independent candidate, and Akua Donkor of the Ghana Freedom Party (GFP). Mr Akwasi Addae Odike of the United Progressive Party’s nomination is on hold pending a court case.

Credit: Ghanaian Times

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: