Home / Sports / Friendly: Togo Defeat Uganda Cranes

Friendly: Togo Defeat Uganda Cranes

The Uganda Cranes were beaten 1-0 by the Hawks of Togo ahead of a crucial 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifier against the Black Stars of Ghana.

This friendly match played at the Kegue Stadium in Lome was to sharpen the Cranes ahead of their Friday’s encounter with the Black Stars.

Match report:
Atakora Lalawele’s goal on the half hour mark put Claude Le Roy’s charges ahead.

Before the goal, Uganda enjoyed the lion’s share of the ball possession with Portuguese winger William Luwagga Kizito and left back Godfrey Walusimbi running rings around the opposition.

Luwagga and team captain Geofrey Massa had two different blocked shots at goal.

Massa had a penalty shout waved off by the day’s referee after a Luwagga pass following a decent counter attack from the midfielder over 30 metres.

At the onset of the second half Micho introduced five new players – Tonny Mawejje, Moses Oloya, Joseph Ochaya, Baba Kizito and striker Hamis Kizza for Farouk Miya, Nicholas Wadada, Godfrey Walusimbi, Hassan Wasswa Mawanda and Geofrey Massa respectively.

Their introduction injected pace into the game and Togo was pressed to the wall for some time.

Finnish based forward Yunus Sentamu later came in for William Luwagga Kizito in the 64th minute.

On the hand side Togo had four changes Serge Akakpo, Ouro-sama, Agbeniadan and Segbefia on, Boukari, Dossevi, Ouro-Akoriko and Eninful ou

Ochaya’s curling corner was brushed narrowly out by Kiiza in one of the chances created in the second half.

For long spells, Atchou franco, skipper Emmanuel Sheyi Adebayor and Bebou were well contained by the calmness of Murushid Jjuuko.

In nine meetings, Togo has now beaten Uganda five times, with the Eastern Africa giants drawing and winning twice apiece.

Uganda leaves Togo on Wednesday ahead of their match in Tamale on Friday.

Uganda Cranes XI: Salim Jamal Magoola (GK), Nicholas Wadada, Godfrey Walusimbi, Murushid Juuko, Isaac Isinde, Denis Iguma, Hassan Wasswa Mawanda, Khalid Aucho, Kizito Luwagga, Faruku Miya, Geoffrey Massa (Captain).
Subs: Benjamin Ochan (GK), Kizito Geoffrey, Kiiza Hamis, Yunus Sentamu, Joseph Ochaya, Tonny Mawejje, Moses Oloya

Source: radioxyzonline.com

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: