Home / Sports / GFA to Honour Otumfuo, Others At Congress

GFA to Honour Otumfuo, Others At Congress

The Ghana Football Association (GFA) will hold its extra-ordinary Congress on Wednesday, 4th January, 2017 at the Alisa Hotel, Accra.

Originally the extra-ordinary Congress was to come off at the Ghanaman Center of Excellence at Prampram but a late hour decision for relocation has been for convenience.

The climax of the extraordinary Congress, will be to acknowledge the contributions of certain personalities to the development of football in the country.

Otumfuo Osei Tutu has been the life patron of Asante Kotoko FC and played a major role in the all activities of the senior national team.

Aside the assistance he offers the Premier League Board on various occasions, the Dormaahene also founded Aduana Football Club and guided the team to win the Ghana Premier League in their first year in the topflight.

As a majority Shareholder in the club, Togbe Afede has provided the financial strength to help one of Ghana’s most glamorous clubs Accra Hearts of Oak in its quest to revive its past glories.

Former Sports Minister, Hon. E.T Mensah who will also be honored on Wednesday was key in the formation of the current Ghana Premier League as well as the successes of the various national teams during his tenure.

Below are the awardees:


  1. Otumfuo Osei Tutu II (Asantehene)
  2. Osagyefo Oseadeeyo Agyemang Badu II
  3. Torgbe Afede XIV (Agorgormefia)


  1. Samuel Esson Jonah
  2. Kwabena Duffour
  3. Yaw Osafo-Maafo
  4. Enoch Teye-Mensah
  5. Paa Kwesi Nduom
  6. Stephanie Sanders Sullivan


  1. Y. Appiah
  2. Sophia Okuley
  3. Kwaku Ampim-Darko
  4. Alhaji Adamu Iddrisu (Posthumous)
  5. George Boroh Dasoberi (Posthumous)
  6. Kojo Benjamin Taylor
  7. Ernest Thompson
  8. Habiba Atta Forson
  9. Alex Mould
Source: radioxyzonline.com

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: