Home / Politics / Hanna Tetteh Signs ‘Montie 3’ Petition

Hanna Tetteh Signs ‘Montie 3’ Petition

Foreign Affairs minister Hanna Tetteh has signed the petition asking President John Mahama to pardon the ‘Montie three’ who have been jailed for contempt.

Her signing Tuesday comes after media reports suggested that she had shied away from the petition, which has already seen the signatures of several of her colleague ministers.

Notable among the ministers who have signed the petition are Education minister Professor Jane Naana Opoku-Agyemang and Gender minister Nana Oye Lithur.

The three, including a radio host at Montie FM Salifu Maase, popularly known as Mugabe, were last month slapped with a four-month jail term for scandalizing the court.

Meanwhile, the president, through the Chief of Staff Julius Debrah, has presented the petition presented by lawyers of the contemnors to the Council of State for their advice on the way forward.

Presenting the petition to the chairperson of the Council, Madam Cecilia Johnson, Mr. Debrah said the President is looking forward to the advice of the Council.

The chairperson said that the petitions will be submitted to the Legal Committee of the Council for initial review before the Council as a whole meets to consider the issues.

Source: radioxyzonline.com

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: